Commercial Compliance Hub

19 permits · verified 2026-10-31

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Columbia County?

In short

A salon or barber in Columbia County, GA has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 16 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Columbia County Planning Services charges $35 per application, as published in the Planning Services Fee Schedule linked from the county's Fees & Deadlines page for the provisional home occupation. 12 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-31 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Columbia County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Massage Operator's License (Columbia County)only if it applies to youColumbia County Licensing Department (Development Services Division)The license amount is not published on the county's Licensing page or in its Massage Operator's License application packet; contact the Columbia County Licensing Department, 706-312-7171, for the current amount.not stated on the county's Licensing page or in the application packet2026-10-31
Provisional Home Occupationonly if it applies to youColumbia County Planning Services$35 per application, as published in the Planning Services Fee Schedule linked from the county's Fees & Deadlines pagenot stated in the Planning Services Fee Schedule2026-10-31
Water Utility Environmental Compliance Review (backflow and grease interceptors)only if it applies to youColumbia County Water Utility, Environmental ComplianceNo review fee is published on the county's Inspections & Reviews page. Contact Water Utility Environmental Compliance, 706-863-6928.review with each occupational tax application; backflow devices require an annual test2026-10-31
Salon or Shop LicenseGeorgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers$75 new license and renewal alike, plus a $5 online or $10 paper processing feebiennial — expires 30 June of odd-numbered years2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Columbia County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Marshal Building Life Safety Plan Review (architect/engineer designed plans)only if it applies to youColumbia County Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageper project2026-10-31
Fire Sprinkler and Fire Alarm Plan Review and Permitonly if it applies to youColumbia County Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageper system installation2026-10-31
Business License and Occupational Tax (unincorporated Columbia County)Columbia County Licensing Department (Development Services Division)Varies — formula on the Columbia County pagecalendar year; renewed by paying the amount owed by January 31 each year2026-10-31
Commercial Building Permit (new construction, alteration and upfit)only if it applies to youColumbia County Development Services, Building StandardsVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageper project2026-10-31
Commercial Sub-Trade Permits (electrical, plumbing, mechanical, low voltage)only if it applies to youColumbia County Development Services, Building StandardsVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageper project2026-10-31
Commercial Building Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youColumbia County Development Services, Building StandardsVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageper project2026-10-31
Certificate of Occupancy / Completion (Building Standards)only if it applies to youColumbia County Development Services, Building StandardsVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageone-time per project; a temporary certificate is renewed at $1002026-10-31
Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy (new or change of occupancy)only if it applies to youColumbia County Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageremains valid unless the occupancy changes, there is a major fire or the building is altered2026-10-31
Sign Permit (temporary and permanent signs)only if it applies to youColumbia County Planning ServicesVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageper sign2026-10-31
Non-Residential Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youColumbia County Planning ServicesVaries — formula on the Columbia County pageper project2026-10-31

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

GA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax Certificate of RegistrationGeorgia Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services DivisionNo feeno renewal — valid until cancelled, suspended or revoked2026-09-03
General Business License — Georgia state position (local occupation tax certificate)only if it applies to youGeorgia Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionNo feeset by the issuing city or county, usually annual2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youGeorgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division$110 one-time — $100 filing fee plus a $10 service chargeno expiry, but an annual registration is due each year2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youGeorgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division$110 one-time — $100 filing fee plus a $10 service chargeno expiry, but an annual registration is due each year2026-09-03
Annual Registrationonly if it applies to youGeorgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division$60 a year — $50 plus a $10 service charge; $40 for a nonprofitannual — filed between 1 January and 1 April2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Columbia County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a salon or barber in Columbia County, GA, 3 apply to every business of this type and 16 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 12 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Massage Operator's License (Columbia County): The license amount is not published on the county's Licensing page or in its Massage Operator's License application packet; contact the Columbia County Licensing Department, 706-312-7171, for the current amount.

Water Utility Environmental Compliance Review (backflow and grease interceptors): No review fee is published on the county's Inspections & Reviews page. Contact Water Utility Environmental Compliance, 706-863-6928.

The other 10 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Columbia County permits page and the GA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Columbia County?

Permits for a salon or barber in Columbia County, GA come from 8 separate offices: Columbia County Fire Marshal, Columbia County Licensing Department (Development Services Division), Columbia County Development Services, Building Standards, Columbia County Planning Services, Columbia County Water Utility, Environmental Compliance, Georgia Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services Division, Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Columbia County that other businesses do not?

2 of the 4 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Columbia County: Massage Operator's License (Columbia County) and Salon or Shop License.

Massage Operator's License (Columbia County)

This license applies to a salon only as a scope consequence: a salon offering massage services needs it, and a salon without massage services is outside it. The county's Licensing page states that the Board of Commissioners adopted Ordinance 16-07 creating a massage operator's license that is "required for all businesses that provide massage services", that it is in addition to the business license and occupational tax, and that all applications are presented to the Planning Commission for approval, a process that typically takes several weeks. The county's checklist (effective 08/15/2022) states that massage therapy is a conditional use in the C-1, C-C, C-2, P-1, PDD and S-1 zoning districts and asks applicants to confirm the property's conditional use with Planning at 706-868-3400; it requires a notarized application, a Georgia massage therapist license, a passport-style photo and a registered agent who lives in Columbia County.

Provisional Home Occupation

This record applies only as a scope consequence: a business run from a home in unincorporated Columbia County, rather than from a commercial location, falls under the county's home occupation rules, and a business at a commercial location is outside it. The county's Occupational Tax page states that businesses that do not operate from a commercial location, including mobile businesses, are considered home occupations, and the county's application form requires a signed home occupations compliance form for home-based or mobile businesses. The $35 Provisional Home Occupation amount is as published in the Planning Services Fee Schedule linked as the county's current schedule from its Fees & Deadlines page. Contact Planning Services at 706-868-3400.

Salon or Shop License

One license class covers everything: the barber and cosmetology boards merged in 2015, so there is no separate beauty salon, nail salon, esthetician or barber shop fee — all are the same $75. Legacy barber shop licenses can be renewed but no longer newly issued. Georgia does not license mobile salons at all, and the board says so plainly; a unit qualifies only if anchored on the ground in a permanent location. Home-based salons are allowed. The owner need not be a licensed practitioner but must complete a board-approved health, safety and sanitation course. A change of name, location or ownership needs a fresh application rather than an amendment, and paper applications are no longer accepted.

Shared with other businesses in Columbia County

  • Water Utility Environmental Compliance Review (backflow and grease interceptors) — Columbia County Water Utility, Environmental Compliance, No review fee is published on the county's Inspections & Reviews page. Contact Water Utility Environmental Compliance, 706-863-6928., review with each occupational tax application; backflow devices require an annual test. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, auto repair shops and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 10 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Columbia County, GA; what each one involves is set out on the Columbia County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across GA and are covered on the GA state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Columbia County?

The closest match is an auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Massage Operator's License (Columbia County), Provisional Home Occupation and Salon or Shop License. An auto repair shop needs Automotive Repair Shop License — Georgia state position, which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Columbia County, GA, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops2131
Childcare centres2131
Retail stores3132
Contractors and trades5134
Coffee shops7136
Restaurants7136
Fitness studios1041
Food trucks6046
Veterinary clinics1041

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Columbia County permits page and the GA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. LicensingColumbia County, Georgia · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-31
  2. Massage Operator's License Application Packet (Checklist effective 08/15/2022)Columbia County Licensing Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-31
  3. Additional Licenses & PermitsColumbia County, Georgia · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-31
  4. Fee Schedule — Planning ServicesColumbia County Board of Commissioners · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-31
  5. Fees & DeadlinesColumbia County Planning Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-31
  6. Occupational Tax (Business License)Columbia County, Georgia · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-31
  7. Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers — fee scheduleGeorgia Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  8. Georgia Comp. R. & Regs. chapter 295-2 — expiration and renewal dates for every license administered by the Professional Licensing Boards DivisionGeorgia Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.