Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-10-10

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Adams County Co?

In short

A coffee shop in Adams County Co, CO has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Colorado Secretary of State, Business Division charges $50 one-time filing, online only for the articles of incorporation. 9 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Adams County Co

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Retail Food Establishment License (annual; fixed and mobile)Adams County Health Department, Environmental HealthAmounts the Adams County Health Department publishes for 2026 under "Fees Set by Colorado Legislature" (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(1.1), as enacted by SB25-285): restaurant or caterer 0-100 seats $481, 101-200 seats $538, over 200 seats $581; limited food service establishment $338; grocery store without deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $244, over 15,000 sq. ft. $441; grocery store with deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $469, over 15,000 sq. ft. $894; mobile unit full service $481, prepackaged food $338. The statutory schedule changes on 1/1/2027; contact ACHD for the amounts it charges from that date.annual, valid January 1 through December 31; mobile licenses expire December 31 regardless of issue date; not prorated and not transferable2026-10-10
Liquor or Fermented Malt Beverage License: Adams County approval before state filing (unincorporated county)only if it applies to youAdams County Licensing (Liquor and Marijuana Licensing Authority Board)State's fee only, per the Colorado Department of Revenue's DR 8500 fee schedule dated 08/14/26: state application fee $1,100 ($1,200 with concurrent review); state transfer of ownership application fee $1,100; state annual renewal application fee $250; state annual license fee for a county-issued license: Hotel & Restaurant $500, Tavern $500, Lodging $500, Entertainment $500, Brew Pub $750, Beer & Wine $436.25, Retail Liquor Store $312.50, Fermented Malt Beverage types $117.50; state manager registration $30; state special event permit $25 per day ($10 per day for fermented malt beverage). The local (county) portion is charged in addition and is not stated in a current Adams County document; contact Adams County Licensing.annual; renewals are filed with Adams County 45 days before the license expires2026-10-10
Special Event Retail Food Licenseonly if it applies to youAdams County Health Department, Environmental HealthSpecial events license $165 a year per license; special event plan review application $160 per event; late fee $50 per late application; special event inspection $80 per hour per inspector (ACHD 2026 fee page).annual (the license fee is charged annually per license); plan review per event2026-10-10
Retail Food Establishment Plan Review (fixed and mobile)only if it applies to youAdams County Health Department, Environmental Health$155 application fee at submission; plan review and pre-opening inspection billed at an hourly rate and not to exceed $900, due at licensing (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(2)). HACCP plan review at actual cost, not to exceed $620 for a process already conducted at the facility and $100 for a specific written process (25-4-1607(4)). Optional site evaluation of a potential location: $120 or the actual cost, whichever is greater, with $120 billed when requested (25-4-1607(5)).one-time, before a new, extensively remodelled or never-licensed establishment or mobile unit opens2026-10-10
Retail Food Establishment LicenseColorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability$244–$1,063 a year for 2026, banded by establishment type and size; the schedule rises in 2027 and 2028annual2026-09-03
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youColorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Division of Environmental Health and SustainabilityNo feeset by the certifying programme, not by Colorado2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Adams County Co

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
On-Site Wastewater Treatment System (Septic) Permit (conditional: sites not on public sewer)only if it applies to youAdams County Health Department, Environmental HealthVaries — formula on the Adams County Co pageper permit (installation, repair or expansion)2026-10-10
Building, Plumbing, Mechanical and Electrical Permit (unincorporated Adams County)only if it applies to youAdams County Community and Economic Development Department, Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Adams County Co pageper permit2026-10-10
Certificate of Occupancy (unincorporated Adams County)only if it applies to youAdams County Community and Economic Development Department, Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Adams County Co pageone-time, on completion of the permitted work2026-10-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CO registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business Division$50 one-time filing, online onlyperpetual, but a periodic report is due every year2026-09-03
General Business License — Colorado position (issued locally)only if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business DivisionNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-03
Sales Tax LicenseColorado Department of Revenue, Taxation DivisionVaries — formula on the CO page2 years — every license expires on 31 December of an odd-numbered year2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business Division$50 one-time filing, online onlyperpetual, but a periodic report is due every year2026-09-03
Periodic Reportonly if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business Division$25 a year; $50 more if filed lateannual — due in the entity's own periodic report month2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Adams County Co?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Adams County Co, CO, 3 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

9 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Retail Food Establishment License (annual; fixed and mobile): Amounts the Adams County Health Department publishes for 2026 under "Fees Set by Colorado Legislature" (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(1.1), as enacted by SB25-285): restaurant or caterer 0-100 seats $481, 101-200 seats $538, over 200 seats $581; limited food service establishment $338; grocery store without deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $244, over 15,000 sq. ft. $441; grocery store with deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $469, over 15,000 sq. ft. $894; mobile unit full service $481, prepackaged food $338. The statutory schedule changes on 1/1/2027; contact ACHD for the amounts it charges from that date.

Liquor or Fermented Malt Beverage License: Adams County approval before state filing (unincorporated county): State's fee only, per the Colorado Department of Revenue's DR 8500 fee schedule dated 08/14/26: state application fee $1,100 ($1,200 with concurrent review); state transfer of ownership application fee $1,100; state annual renewal application fee $250; state annual license fee for a county-issued license: Hotel & Restaurant $500, Tavern $500, Lodging $500, Entertainment $500, Brew Pub $750, Beer & Wine $436.25, Retail Liquor Store $312.50, Fermented Malt Beverage types $117.50; state manager registration $30; state special event permit $25 per day ($10 per day for fermented malt beverage). The local (county) portion is charged in addition and is not stated in a current Adams County document; contact Adams County Licensing.

Special Event Retail Food License: Special events license $165 a year per license; special event plan review application $160 per event; late fee $50 per late application; special event inspection $80 per hour per inspector (ACHD 2026 fee page).

Retail Food Establishment Plan Review (fixed and mobile): $155 application fee at submission; plan review and pre-opening inspection billed at an hourly rate and not to exceed $900, due at licensing (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(2)). HACCP plan review at actual cost, not to exceed $620 for a process already conducted at the facility and $100 for a specific written process (25-4-1607(4)). Optional site evaluation of a potential location: $120 or the actual cost, whichever is greater, with $120 billed when requested (25-4-1607(5)).

Retail Food Establishment License: $244–$1,063 a year for 2026, banded by establishment type and size; the schedule rises in 2027 and 2028

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Adams County Co permits page and the CO state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Adams County Co?

Permits for a coffee shop in Adams County Co, CO come from 6 separate offices: Adams County Health Department, Environmental Health, Adams County Licensing (Liquor and Marijuana Licensing Authority Board), Adams County Community and Economic Development Department, Building Safety, Colorado Secretary of State, Business Division, Colorado Department of Revenue, Taxation Division, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Adams County Co that other businesses do not?

Retail Food Establishment License (annual; fixed and mobile)

A restaurant, coffee shop, grocery or other retail food establishment, and every food truck, trailer and push cart, needs an annual Retail Food Establishment License from the Adams County Health Department (ACHD). The ACHD Retail Food page states: "All food establishments and businesses must be licensed to operate in Adams County." ACHD's official 2026 Licensing and Inspections Fees page publishes these amounts under "Fees Set by Colorado Legislature": restaurant $481 for 0-100 seats, $538 for 101-200 and $581 for over 200; limited retail food services $338; grocery without deli $244 up to 15,000 sq. ft. or $441 over; grocery with deli $469 up to 15,000 sq. ft. or $894 over; mobile unit full services $481 and prepackaged food $338. They are the amounts ACHD publishes under C.R.S. 25-4-1607(1.1), enacted by SB25-285, which sets the annual license fee schedule and lets a county board of health set lower fees (25-4-1607(1.1)(d)(I)(B)); the statutory schedule changes on 1/1/2027, and ACHD publishes the amounts it charges from that date. Under 25-4-1607(1.1)(d)(II) these are the only annual license fees a county may charge; $55 of each fee goes to the state food protection cash fund (C.R.S. 25-4-1608(2)). ACHD's 2026 Retail Food Guide states that the license runs January 1 through December 31, fees are not prorated, a separate license is required for each facility or unit, and licenses are non-transferable, so a change of ownership or of the Colorado sales tax number needs a new application. ACHD's food truck page states that mobile licenses expire on December 31 each year regardless of issue date.

Special Event Retail Food License

A food vendor at a special event in Adams County licenses through the Adams County Health Department. Under C.R.S. 25-4-1607(1.1)(b)(II), as enacted by SB25-285, a county or district public health agency sets the license fees for a retail food establishment at a special event, so this is a county fee rather than one of the state-set annual license fees. ACHD's 2026 fees are $165 a year per Special Events License, $160 per event for the special event plan review application, a $50 late fee per late application, and $80 per hour per inspector for special event inspection. The figure is from the Adams County Health Department's official "2026 Licensing and Inspections Fees" page, which states that the table sets the Environmental Health fees for 2026 under C.R.S. 25-1-508(5)(j) and 25-10-107(1); the page does not link or date the Board of Health resolution that adopted the 2026 fees.

Shared with other businesses in Adams County Co

  • Liquor or Fermented Malt Beverage License: Adams County approval before state filing (unincorporated county) — Adams County Licensing (Liquor and Marijuana Licensing Authority Board), State's fee only, per the Colorado Department of Revenue's DR 8500 fee schedule dated 08/14/26: state application fee $1,100 ($1,200 with concurrent review); state transfer of ownership application fee $1,100; state annual renewal application fee $250; state annual license fee for a county-issued license: Hotel & Restaurant $500, Tavern $500, Lodging $500, Entertainment $500, Brew Pub $750, Beer & Wine $436.25, Retail Liquor Store $312.50, Fermented Malt Beverage types $117.50; state manager registration $30; state special event permit $25 per day ($10 per day for fermented malt beverage). The local (county) portion is charged in addition and is not stated in a current Adams County document; contact Adams County Licensing., annual; renewals are filed with Adams County 45 days before the license expires. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Retail Food Establishment Plan Review (fixed and mobile) — Adams County Health Department, Environmental Health, $155 application fee at submission; plan review and pre-opening inspection billed at an hourly rate and not to exceed $900, due at licensing (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(2)). HACCP plan review at actual cost, not to exceed $620 for a process already conducted at the facility and $100 for a specific written process (25-4-1607(4)). Optional site evaluation of a potential location: $120 or the actual cost, whichever is greater, with $120 billed when requested (25-4-1607(5))., one-time, before a new, extensively remodelled or never-licensed establishment or mobile unit opens. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Retail Food Establishment License — Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability, $244–$1,063 a year for 2026, banded by establishment type and size; the schedule rises in 2027 and 2028, annual. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability, No fee, set by the certifying programme, not by Colorado. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Adams County Co, CO; what each one involves is set out on the Adams County Co permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CO and are covered on the CO state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Adams County Co?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant needs Public Dance Hall License (county license, patron dancing), which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Adams County Co, CO, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants7601
Food trucks5510
Retail stores3330
Auto repair shops1061
Childcare centres2062
Contractors and trades3063
Fitness studios1061
Salons and barbers1061
Veterinary clinics1061

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Adams County Co permits page and the CO state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Adams County Health Department — 2026 Licensing and Inspection FeesAdams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  2. Senate Bill 25-285, signed act (amending C.R.S. 25-4-1607 and 25-4-1608: retail food establishment fees)Colorado General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  3. Retail Food pageAdams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  4. Retail Food Guide (2026)Adams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  5. Food Truck & Push Cart Licensing pageAdams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.