Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-10-10

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Adams County Co?

In short

A retail store in Adams County Co, CO has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Colorado Secretary of State, Business Division charges $50 one-time filing, online only for the articles of incorporation. 7 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Adams County Co

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Retail Food Establishment License (annual; fixed and mobile)Adams County Health Department, Environmental HealthAmounts the Adams County Health Department publishes for 2026 under "Fees Set by Colorado Legislature" (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(1.1), as enacted by SB25-285): restaurant or caterer 0-100 seats $481, 101-200 seats $538, over 200 seats $581; limited food service establishment $338; grocery store without deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $244, over 15,000 sq. ft. $441; grocery store with deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $469, over 15,000 sq. ft. $894; mobile unit full service $481, prepackaged food $338. The statutory schedule changes on 1/1/2027; contact ACHD for the amounts it charges from that date.annual, valid January 1 through December 31; mobile licenses expire December 31 regardless of issue date; not prorated and not transferable2026-10-10
Liquor or Fermented Malt Beverage License: Adams County approval before state filing (unincorporated county)only if it applies to youAdams County Licensing (Liquor and Marijuana Licensing Authority Board)State's fee only, per the Colorado Department of Revenue's DR 8500 fee schedule dated 08/14/26: state application fee $1,100 ($1,200 with concurrent review); state transfer of ownership application fee $1,100; state annual renewal application fee $250; state annual license fee for a county-issued license: Hotel & Restaurant $500, Tavern $500, Lodging $500, Entertainment $500, Brew Pub $750, Beer & Wine $436.25, Retail Liquor Store $312.50, Fermented Malt Beverage types $117.50; state manager registration $30; state special event permit $25 per day ($10 per day for fermented malt beverage). The local (county) portion is charged in addition and is not stated in a current Adams County document; contact Adams County Licensing.annual; renewals are filed with Adams County 45 days before the license expires2026-10-10
Retail Food Establishment Plan Review (fixed and mobile)only if it applies to youAdams County Health Department, Environmental Health$155 application fee at submission; plan review and pre-opening inspection billed at an hourly rate and not to exceed $900, due at licensing (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(2)). HACCP plan review at actual cost, not to exceed $620 for a process already conducted at the facility and $100 for a specific written process (25-4-1607(4)). Optional site evaluation of a potential location: $120 or the actual cost, whichever is greater, with $120 billed when requested (25-4-1607(5)).one-time, before a new, extensively remodelled or never-licensed establishment or mobile unit opens2026-10-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Adams County Co

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
On-Site Wastewater Treatment System (Septic) Permit (conditional: sites not on public sewer)only if it applies to youAdams County Health Department, Environmental HealthVaries — formula on the Adams County Co pageper permit (installation, repair or expansion)2026-10-10
Building, Plumbing, Mechanical and Electrical Permit (unincorporated Adams County)only if it applies to youAdams County Community and Economic Development Department, Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Adams County Co pageper permit2026-10-10
Certificate of Occupancy (unincorporated Adams County)only if it applies to youAdams County Community and Economic Development Department, Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Adams County Co pageone-time, on completion of the permitted work2026-10-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CO registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business Division$50 one-time filing, online onlyperpetual, but a periodic report is due every year2026-09-03
General Business License — Colorado position (issued locally)only if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business DivisionNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-03
Sales Tax LicenseColorado Department of Revenue, Taxation DivisionVaries — formula on the CO page2 years — every license expires on 31 December of an odd-numbered year2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business Division$50 one-time filing, online onlyperpetual, but a periodic report is due every year2026-09-03
Periodic Reportonly if it applies to youColorado Secretary of State, Business Division$25 a year; $50 more if filed lateannual — due in the entity's own periodic report month2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Adams County Co?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a retail store in Adams County Co, CO, 2 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

7 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Retail Food Establishment License (annual; fixed and mobile): Amounts the Adams County Health Department publishes for 2026 under "Fees Set by Colorado Legislature" (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(1.1), as enacted by SB25-285): restaurant or caterer 0-100 seats $481, 101-200 seats $538, over 200 seats $581; limited food service establishment $338; grocery store without deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $244, over 15,000 sq. ft. $441; grocery store with deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $469, over 15,000 sq. ft. $894; mobile unit full service $481, prepackaged food $338. The statutory schedule changes on 1/1/2027; contact ACHD for the amounts it charges from that date.

Liquor or Fermented Malt Beverage License: Adams County approval before state filing (unincorporated county): State's fee only, per the Colorado Department of Revenue's DR 8500 fee schedule dated 08/14/26: state application fee $1,100 ($1,200 with concurrent review); state transfer of ownership application fee $1,100; state annual renewal application fee $250; state annual license fee for a county-issued license: Hotel & Restaurant $500, Tavern $500, Lodging $500, Entertainment $500, Brew Pub $750, Beer & Wine $436.25, Retail Liquor Store $312.50, Fermented Malt Beverage types $117.50; state manager registration $30; state special event permit $25 per day ($10 per day for fermented malt beverage). The local (county) portion is charged in addition and is not stated in a current Adams County document; contact Adams County Licensing.

Retail Food Establishment Plan Review (fixed and mobile): $155 application fee at submission; plan review and pre-opening inspection billed at an hourly rate and not to exceed $900, due at licensing (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(2)). HACCP plan review at actual cost, not to exceed $620 for a process already conducted at the facility and $100 for a specific written process (25-4-1607(4)). Optional site evaluation of a potential location: $120 or the actual cost, whichever is greater, with $120 billed when requested (25-4-1607(5)).

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Adams County Co permits page and the CO state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Adams County Co?

Permits for a retail store in Adams County Co, CO come from 5 separate offices: Adams County Health Department, Environmental Health, Adams County Licensing (Liquor and Marijuana Licensing Authority Board), Adams County Community and Economic Development Department, Building Safety, Colorado Secretary of State, Business Division, Colorado Department of Revenue, Taxation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Adams County Co that other businesses do not?

Liquor or Fermented Malt Beverage License: Adams County approval before state filing (unincorporated county)

The county's Licensing page states that licenses or permits for the sale of alcoholic beverages are required in unincorporated Adams County, that Colorado liquor and beer retail licenses are issued by both county and state licensing authorities, and that all license or permit applications must be submitted to the Adams County local licensing authority and given approval prior to filing with the State of Colorado Liquor Licensing Division. Adams County is the local licensing authority for unincorporated Adams County; its Liquor and Marijuana Licensing Authority Board meets at 6 p.m. on the third Wednesday of each month at the Government Center in Brighton. The county's New Liquor License Application Process sheet states that the process generally takes 90-120 days, that applicants use the state forms (DR 8404 or DR 8403 and DR 8404-I), and that the county requires an Individual History Record from anyone with a financial interest except a lending institution. Its renewal sheet states that renewals are filed with Adams County 45 days before expiration and forwarded to the state after county approval. The figures recorded here are the state's fees from the Colorado Department of Revenue's DR 8500 schedule dated 08/14/26, in the columns for a county-issued license: application $1,100 ($1,200 with concurrent review), transfer of ownership $1,100, renewal $250, annual license $500 for Hotel & Restaurant, Tavern, Lodging or Entertainment, $750 for Brew Pub, $436.25 for Beer & Wine, $312.50 for Retail Liquor Store and $117.50 for fermented malt beverage licenses, manager registration $30, and special event permits $25 per day ($10 for fermented malt beverage). The county's local fee is charged in addition; the county's sheets point applicants to the state fee schedule at sbg.colorado.gov; contact Adams County Licensing for the current local amount.

Retail Food Establishment Plan Review (fixed and mobile)

New construction, an extensively remodelled food establishment, and a mobile food unit never licensed by the Adams County Health Department need a plan review before opening. ACHD's 2026 Retail Food Guide defines extensive remodelling to include a 20% increase in seating, a 25% or greater change in non-public space, alterations requiring a building permit, significant menu changes and extensive equipment changes; a change of ownership with no major changes needs no plans but does need an inspection before opening. ACHD's 2026 fixed-establishment plan review packet and its 2026 mobile plan review application both list a $155 application fee and state that plan review fees, separate from the application fee, are due at licensing, are set at an hourly rate and will not exceed $900. Those amounts match C.R.S. 25-4-1607(2) as amended by SB25-285. Under 25-4-1607(4), a HACCP plan review costs the actual cost of review, capped at $620 for a process already conducted at the facility and at $100 for a specific written process. Under 25-4-1607(5), a requested review of a potential food establishment site costs $120 or the actual cost, whichever is greater. The packets state that responses are made by email within 14 working days (fixed) or 14 business days (mobile). Contact: ACHD plan review, 720.713.6200, EHPlanReviewSupport@adamscountyco.gov.

Shared with other businesses in Adams County Co

  • Retail Food Establishment License (annual; fixed and mobile) — Adams County Health Department, Environmental Health, Amounts the Adams County Health Department publishes for 2026 under "Fees Set by Colorado Legislature" (C.R.S. 25-4-1607(1.1), as enacted by SB25-285): restaurant or caterer 0-100 seats $481, 101-200 seats $538, over 200 seats $581; limited food service establishment $338; grocery store without deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $244, over 15,000 sq. ft. $441; grocery store with deli up to 15,000 sq. ft. $469, over 15,000 sq. ft. $894; mobile unit full service $481, prepackaged food $338. The statutory schedule changes on 1/1/2027; contact ACHD for the amounts it charges from that date., annual, valid January 1 through December 31; mobile licenses expire December 31 regardless of issue date; not prorated and not transferable. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Adams County Co, CO; what each one involves is set out on the Adams County Co permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CO and are covered on the CO state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Adams County Co?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A coffee shop needs Special Event Retail Food License, Retail Food Establishment License and Certified Food Protection Manager, which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Adams County Co, CO, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops6303
Restaurants7304
Food trucks5213
Auto repair shops1031
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades3033
Fitness studios1031
Salons and barbers1031
Veterinary clinics1031

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Adams County Co permits page and the CO state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. DR 8500 Liquor Enforcement Division Fee Schedule (08/14/26)Colorado Department of Revenue · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  2. Licensing page (liquor, marijuana, public dance hall)Adams County, Colorado · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  3. New Liquor License Application ProcessAdams County, Colorado · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  4. Liquor License Renewal ProcessAdams County, Colorado · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  5. Retail Food Establishment Plan Review packet (2026)Adams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  6. Senate Bill 25-285, signed act (amending C.R.S. 25-4-1607 and 25-4-1608: retail food establishment fees)Colorado General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  7. Mobile Food Establishment Plan Review application (2026)Adams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  8. Retail Food Plan Reviews pageAdams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10
  9. Retail Food Guide (2026)Adams County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-10

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.