19 permits · verified 2026-09-27
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Los Angeles County?
In short
A fitness studio in Los Angeles County, CA has 1 permit that applies to every business of this type, plus 18 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning charges $3,513 per application, commercial or industrial (effective March 1, 2026) for the conditional use permit, minor (commercial or industrial). 10 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Los Angeles County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa)only if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collector, Business License Section | Cost-recovery fee set per license category under LA County Code Title 7 §7.14.010; every application carries a non-refundable application fee, and some categories additionally require sign-off from the Fire Department, Sheriff, Dept. of Health Services or Dept. of Regional Planning before the Business License Commission issues the license. The per-category dollar amounts were not published in the TTC's accessible fee documents. | not stated in the sources retrieved | 2026-09-27 |
| Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permit (annual)only if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division | $274–$1,007 a year per facility, by risk tier (FY2026-27): Low $274 (each additional pool $162); Moderate $672 (additional $348); High $1,007 (additional $522) (fee codes 3601-3621) | annual (county fiscal year, July 1-June 30) | 2026-09-27 |
| Conditional Use Permit (general)only if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning | $11,899–$15,873 per application, effective March 1, 2026: $15,873 when there is no other concurrent application on the same property; $11,899 when there is a concurrent application; plus a Fire referral fee of $442, plus $259 per revision, where Fire review is required | runs with the land (LA County Code Title 22); an extension can be requested through the CUP Time Extension process below | 2026-09-27 |
| Conditional Use Permit, Minor (Commercial or Industrial)only if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning | $3,513 per application, commercial or industrial (effective March 1, 2026) | runs with the land | 2026-09-27 |
| Conditional Use Permit — Modification or Elimination of Conditionsonly if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning | $1,353–$11,129 per request, effective March 1, 2026: $11,129 general; $1,353 for a nonprofit operator with an annual operating budget under $500,000 | one-time, per modification request | 2026-09-27 |
| Conditional Use Permit — Time Extensiononly if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning | $2,109 per extension request (effective March 1, 2026) | one-time, per extension request | 2026-09-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Los Angeles County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Site Plan Review, Ministerial (Commercial & Industrial)only if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning | Varies — formula on the Los Angeles County page | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Change-of-Use / Occupancy Inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety Division | Varies — formula on the Los Angeles County page | one-time, per inspection | 2026-09-27 |
| On-Site Business Sign Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning | Varies — formula on the Los Angeles County page | one-time | 2026-09-27 |
| Commercial Building Permit / Plan Checkonly if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety Division | Varies — formula on the Los Angeles County page | per project | 2026-09-27 |
| Demolition Inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety Division | $244.88 one-time, per demolition inspection (FY2026-27; was $229.93 in the FY2024-25 archived schedule) | one-time, per inspection | 2026-09-27 |
| Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementonly if it applies to you | Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk | Varies — formula on the Los Angeles County page | not stated in the sources retrieved | 2026-09-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
CA registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Statement of Information (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $20 per filing, biennial | biennial | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $70 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due biennially | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $100 one-time filing | no expiry, but a Statement of Information is due annually | 2026-09-03 |
| Statement of Information (Corporation)only if it applies to you | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | $25 per filing, annual | annual | 2026-09-03 |
| Seller's Permitonly if it applies to you | California Department of Tax and Fee Administration | No fee — no fee to apply | no expiry while actively engaged in business as a seller | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxonly if it applies to you | California Franchise Tax Board | Varies — formula on the CA page | annual, until the entity is cancelled | 2026-09-03 |
| General Business License — California position (city or county, not state) | California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division | No fee | set by the issuing city or county | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Los Angeles County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a fitness studio in Los Angeles County, CA, 1 apply to every business of this type and 18 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
10 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa): Cost-recovery fee set per license category under LA County Code Title 7 §7.14.010; every application carries a non-refundable application fee, and some categories additionally require sign-off from the Fire Department, Sheriff, Dept. of Health Services or Dept. of Regional Planning before the Business License Commission issues the license. The per-category dollar amounts were not published in the TTC's accessible fee documents.
Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permit (annual): $274–$1,007 a year per facility, by risk tier (FY2026-27): Low $274 (each additional pool $162); Moderate $672 (additional $348); High $1,007 (additional $522) (fee codes 3601-3621)
Conditional Use Permit (general): $11,899–$15,873 per application, effective March 1, 2026: $15,873 when there is no other concurrent application on the same property; $11,899 when there is a concurrent application; plus a Fire referral fee of $442, plus $259 per revision, where Fire review is required
Conditional Use Permit — Modification or Elimination of Conditions: $1,353–$11,129 per request, effective March 1, 2026: $11,129 general; $1,353 for a nonprofit operator with an annual operating budget under $500,000
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Los Angeles County permits page and the CA state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Los Angeles County?
Permits for a fitness studio in Los Angeles County, CA come from 8 separate offices: Los Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collector, Business License Section, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division, Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning, Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety Division, Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division, California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, California Franchise Tax Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Los Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collector, Business License SectionIssues 1 permit on this page: County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa)ttc.lacounty.gov/business-license-general-information
- Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permit (annual)5050 Commerce Drive, Baldwin Park, CA 91706 · (626) 430-5560 (plan check); (626) 430-5500 (Mobile Food Program)publichealth.lacounty.gov/eh/about/permit.htm
- Los Angeles County Department of Regional PlanningIssues 6 permits on this page, including Site Plan Review, Ministerial (Commercial & Industrial), On-Site Business Sign Plan Review, Conditional Use Permit (general)planning.lacounty.gov
- Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Building and Safety DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Change-of-Use / Occupancy Inspection Fee, Commercial Building Permit / Plan Check, Demolition Inspection Feepw.lacounty.gov/bsd
- Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: Fictitious Business Name (DBA) Statementlavote.gov/fictitious-business-names/fees
- California Secretary of State, Business Programs DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Statement of Information (LLC), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation(916) 657-5448bizfileonline.sos.ca.gov
- California Department of Tax and Fee AdministrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Seller's Permitonlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov
- California Franchise Tax BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxwww.ftb.ca.gov
What does a fitness studio need in Los Angeles County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 6 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Los Angeles County: Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permit (annual).
Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permit (annual)
A fitness studio or gym with a swimming pool or spa on the premises needs an annual DPH-EH public swimming pool permit, everywhere in the county except Long Beach, Pasadena and Vernon. The FY2026-27 fee is $274 a year at Low risk, $672 at Moderate and $1,007 at High risk, for the first pool, with a lower per-additional-pool fee ($162, $348 or $522 respectively) for a facility with more than one pool or spa. A studio with no pool or spa needs no permit under this program.
Conditional Use Permit, Minor (Commercial or Industrial)
A Minor Conditional Use Permit is a lower-cost track for a commercial or industrial conditional use in unincorporated Los Angeles County that qualifies for streamlined review, priced at $3,513 under the March 1, 2026 fee schedule — well below the $11,899-$15,873 general CUP fee. Which specific uses qualify for the minor track versus the general CUP process is set case by case by DRP under Title 22, Chapter 22.158. This fee applies only in the unincorporated area.
Conditional Use Permit — Modification or Elimination of Conditions
Modifying or eliminating a condition on an existing Conditional Use Permit in unincorporated Los Angeles County costs $11,129 under the current March 2026 DRP fee schedule column, or $1,353 for a nonprofit operator with an annual operating budget under $500,000. The prior year's fee schedule column, one column to the left in the same table, showed $10,804 for the general rate — that older figure is superseded and should not be used.
Shared with other businesses in Los Angeles County
- County Business License — Regulated Categories (Restaurant, Motor Vehicle Repair, Massage/Body Art, Health Spa) — Los Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collector, Business License Section, Cost-recovery fee set per license category under LA County Code Title 7 §7.14.010; every application carries a non-refundable application fee, and some categories additionally require sign-off from the Fire Department, Sheriff, Dept. of Health Services or Dept. of Regional Planning before the Business License Commission issues the license. The per-category dollar amounts were not published in the TTC's accessible fee documents., not stated in the sources retrieved. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Conditional Use Permit (general) — Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning, $11,899–$15,873 per application, effective March 1, 2026: $15,873 when there is no other concurrent application on the same property; $11,899 when there is a concurrent application; plus a Fire referral fee of $442, plus $259 per revision, where Fire review is required, runs with the land (LA County Code Title 22); an extension can be requested through the CUP Time Extension process below. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, food trucks, retail stores, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Conditional Use Permit — Time Extension — Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning, $2,109 per extension request (effective March 1, 2026), one-time, per extension request. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, food trucks, retail stores, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Los Angeles County, CA; what each one involves is set out on the Los Angeles County permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CA and are covered on the CA state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Los Angeles County?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 5 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Public Swimming Pool / Spa Permit (annual). A restaurant needs Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Local Referral Fee, Retail Food Facility Permit — Restaurant / Coffee Shop (annual), Food Facility Plan Check (new construction / major remodel) and 3 more, which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 11 | 5 | 1 | 6 |
| Retail stores | 9 | 4 | 2 | 5 |
| Coffee shops | 10 | 4 | 2 | 6 |
| Veterinary clinics | 10 | 4 | 2 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 11 | 4 | 2 | 7 |
| Childcare centres | 7 | 3 | 3 | 4 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 5 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 6 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page, coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Los Angeles County permits page and the CA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Public Health and Financial Management Fee Schedule, FY2026-27 (report run 08/18/2026)LA County Dept. of Public Health, Environmental Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- Environmental Health permits overviewLA County Dept. of Public Health, Environmental Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
- Revised Filing Fees, effective March 1, 2026LA County Dept. of Regional Planning · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-27
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
