14 published records
Business licenses and permits in Birmingham, Alabama
Primarily in Jefferson County, one of only two Alabama counties running its own independent health department, but a Highway 280 corridor strip sits in Shelby County.
What are you opening in Birmingham?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Birmingham
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Birmingham Department of Planning, Engineering and Permits | $150 flat; a new Certificate of Use and Occupancy triggered by a change of occupancy or tenant is a $300 inspection fee instead | one-time, per issuance | 2026-09-08 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Birmingham Department of Planning, Engineering and Permits | $9.50 per $1,000 of valuation for the building permit itself, and identically for HVAC, sprinkler/fire detection, awnings, and parking lot installation; plumbing, gas, electrical and mechanical permits are the same $9.50 per $1,000 with a $125 minimum each. Plan review (commercial): $150 up to $10,000 valuation, $350 for $10,001–$50,000, $700 for $50,001–$100,000, then $700 plus $1.50 per $1,000 above $100,001. A $1.00 per $1,000 state craft-training-fund surcharge applies to nonresidential permits. Reinspection is $125; weekend/after-hours inspection is a $300 minimum for the first four hours. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-08 |
| Zoning Certificate or Information Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Birmingham Department of Planning, Engineering and Permits | $50–$100 a Zoning Certificate Letter (zoning classification and flood plain status only) is $50; a more detailed Zoning Information Letter is $100 or more depending on scope | one-time, per request | 2026-09-08 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Birmingham?
Certificate of Occupancy
A duplicate certificate is $150. Where a building permit for alterations exceeding $10,000 is already being issued, the occupancy inspection appears to be folded into that permit process rather than charged as the separate $300 change-of-occupancy fee, though the city's fee document does not state this explicitly.
Commercial Building Permit
A citywide minimum permit fee of $125 applies regardless of the calculated amount for any individual trade permit.
Zoning Certificate or Information Letter
The city's own request form does not state whether this letter is a mandatory prerequisite to opening or an optional due-diligence document a business can request; several municipal business license schedules (auto repair, parking, junk yards) do separately condition license issuance on zoning sign-off from this department. Confirm with the Zoning Division (205-254-2478) before treating this as a required step for every business type.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Birmingham — Permit and Inspection Fees, articles V and VIICity of Birmingham, Department of Planning, Engineering and Permits · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-08
- City of Birmingham — Zoning Letter Request Form and feesCity of Birmingham, Department of Planning, Engineering and Permits · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-08
Who issues business permits in Birmingham?
Permitting in Birmingham is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Birmingham issuing agencies
- City of Birmingham Finance Department, Tax and License Administration DivisionMunicipal business license7 permits
- City of Birmingham Department of Planning, Engineering and PermitsBuilding permits · Sign permits · Certificates of occupancy · Zoning letters4 permits
- Jefferson County Department of Health, Food Protection DivisionFood establishment permits · Day care kitchen permits2 permits
- Birmingham Fire and Rescue Service, Fire Marshal's OfficeFire permits · Mobile food preparation vehicle inspection1 permit
Other Alabama jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
