12 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Nashua?
In short
A retail store in Nashua, NH has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety charges $50 one-time, existing space/owner change for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Nashua
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment) | A $25.00 non-refundable filing fee accompanies every sign permit application, plus an issuance fee banded by sign area: $55.00 for 50 square feet or less, $105.00 for 51-150 square feet, and $200.00 for 151 square feet or more (a change of copy to an existing sign carries no charge). An illuminated sign additionally requires a separate electrical sign permit from the Department of Building Safety, priced at a $25.00 application fee plus $25.00 per sign. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Municipal Business Licensing — City Clerk's License List (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon)only if it applies to you | City of Nashua, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Nashua
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety | $50 one-time, existing space/owner change | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Alarm / Sprinkler System Plan Review and Inspection | Nashua Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per project or system | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Application (Variance, Special Exception, Appeal)only if it applies to you | City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment) | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Planning and Zoning Review Fee (Site Plan / Change of Use) | City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment) | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
NH registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 a year; a late fee of $50 is added after 1 April | annual — due 1 April every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 one-time filing; a $2 handling charge applies to any electronic filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 one-time filing; a $2 handling charge applies to any electronic filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Business Profits Tax and Business Enterprise Taxonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration | No fee | the filing thresholds are adjusted for inflation every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License and Sales Tax — New Hampshire Revenue Department Positiononly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Nashua?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a retail store in Nashua, NH, 4 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $25.00 non-refundable filing fee accompanies every sign permit application, plus an issuance fee banded by sign area: $55.00 for 50 square feet or less, $105.00 for 51-150 square feet, and $200.00 for 151 square feet or more (a change of copy to an existing sign carries no charge). An illuminated sign additionally requires a separate electrical sign permit from the Department of Building Safety, priced at a $25.00 application fee plus $25.00 per sign.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Nashua permits page and the NH state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Nashua?
Permits for a retail store in Nashua, NH come from 6 separate offices: City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment), City of Nashua, Office of the City Clerk, City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety, Nashua Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division, New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment)Issues 3 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Board of Adjustment Application (Variance, Special Exception, Appeal), Planning and Zoning Review Fee (Site Plan / Change of Use)229 Main Street, Nashua, NH 03061-2019 · (603) 589-3090www.nashuanh.gov/613/Planning-Board
- City of Nashua, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: Municipal Business Licensing — City Clerk's License List (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon)229 Main Street, Nashua, NH 03060 · (603) 589-3010www.nashuanh.gov/218/Licenses-Permits
- City of Nashua, Department of Building SafetyIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit, Certificate of OccupancyCity Hall, 229 Main Street, PO Box 2019, Nashua, NH 03061-2019 · (603) 589-3080www.nashuanh.gov/275/Building-Safety-Department
- Nashua Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Alarm / Sprinkler System Plan Review and Inspection70 East Hollis Street, Nashua, NH 03060 · (603) 589-3460www.nashuanh.gov/427/Fire-Marshals-Office
- New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Annual Report, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation107 North Main Street, Concord, NH 03301 · (603) 271-3246www.sos.nh.gov/corporations-0
- New Hampshire Department of Revenue AdministrationIssues 2 permits on this page: Business Profits Tax and Business Enterprise Tax, General Business License and Sales Tax — New Hampshire Revenue Department Position109 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301 · (603) 230-5920www.revenue.nh.gov
What does a retail store need in Nashua that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Nashua
- Sign Permit — City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment), A $25.00 non-refundable filing fee accompanies every sign permit application, plus an issuance fee banded by sign area: $55.00 for 50 square feet or less, $105.00 for 51-150 square feet, and $200.00 for 151 square feet or more (a change of copy to an existing sign carries no charge). An illuminated sign additionally requires a separate electrical sign permit from the Department of Building Safety, priced at a $25.00 application fee plus $25.00 per sign., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Municipal Business Licensing — City Clerk's License List (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon) — City of Nashua, Office of the City Clerk, No fee, not applicable. Also required for auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Nashua, NH; what each one involves is set out on the Nashua permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NH and are covered on the NH state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Nashua?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A fitness studio needs Place of Assembly Permit, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 1 | 1 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 1 | 1 | 5 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 0 | 2 | 6 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Nashua permits page and the NH state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
