14 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Nashua?
In short
A auto repair shop in Nashua, NH has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety charges $50 one-time, existing space/owner change for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Nashua
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment) | A $25.00 non-refundable filing fee accompanies every sign permit application, plus an issuance fee banded by sign area: $55.00 for 50 square feet or less, $105.00 for 51-150 square feet, and $200.00 for 151 square feet or more (a change of copy to an existing sign carries no charge). An illuminated sign additionally requires a separate electrical sign permit from the Department of Building Safety, priced at a $25.00 application fee plus $25.00 per sign. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Municipal Business Licensing — City Clerk's License List (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon)only if it applies to you | City of Nashua, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Vehicle Inspection Station Licenseonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles | $25 a year | annual — renews by 30 September | 2026-09-04 |
| Repairer Registrationonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles | $48 for the first plate; each additional plate is $18 — a further $250 applies only if the shop also sells vehicles | 2 years, on an even-year renewal cycle, prorated for an odd-year start | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Nashua
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety | $50 one-time, existing space/owner change | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Alarm / Sprinkler System Plan Review and Inspection | Nashua Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per project or system | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Application (Variance, Special Exception, Appeal)only if it applies to you | City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment) | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Planning and Zoning Review Fee (Site Plan / Change of Use) | City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment) | Varies — formula on the Nashua page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
NH registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 a year; a late fee of $50 is added after 1 April | annual — due 1 April every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 one-time filing; a $2 handling charge applies to any electronic filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 one-time filing; a $2 handling charge applies to any electronic filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Business Profits Tax and Business Enterprise Taxonly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration | No fee | the filing thresholds are adjusted for inflation every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License and Sales Tax — New Hampshire Revenue Department Positiononly if it applies to you | New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Nashua?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a auto repair shop in Nashua, NH, 4 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $25.00 non-refundable filing fee accompanies every sign permit application, plus an issuance fee banded by sign area: $55.00 for 50 square feet or less, $105.00 for 51-150 square feet, and $200.00 for 151 square feet or more (a change of copy to an existing sign carries no charge). An illuminated sign additionally requires a separate electrical sign permit from the Department of Building Safety, priced at a $25.00 application fee plus $25.00 per sign.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Nashua permits page and the NH state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Nashua?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Nashua, NH come from 7 separate offices: City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment), City of Nashua, Office of the City Clerk, City of Nashua, Department of Building Safety, Nashua Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles, New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation Division, New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment)Issues 3 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Board of Adjustment Application (Variance, Special Exception, Appeal), Planning and Zoning Review Fee (Site Plan / Change of Use)229 Main Street, Nashua, NH 03061-2019 · (603) 589-3090www.nashuanh.gov/613/Planning-Board
- City of Nashua, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: Municipal Business Licensing — City Clerk's License List (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon)229 Main Street, Nashua, NH 03060 · (603) 589-3010www.nashuanh.gov/218/Licenses-Permits
- City of Nashua, Department of Building SafetyIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit, Certificate of OccupancyCity Hall, 229 Main Street, PO Box 2019, Nashua, NH 03061-2019 · (603) 589-3080www.nashuanh.gov/275/Building-Safety-Department
- Nashua Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Alarm / Sprinkler System Plan Review and Inspection70 East Hollis Street, Nashua, NH 03060 · (603) 589-3460www.nashuanh.gov/427/Fire-Marshals-Office
- New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Motor VehiclesIssues 2 permits on this page: Vehicle Inspection Station License, Repairer Registration23 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305 · (603) 227-4120www.dmv.nh.gov
- New Hampshire Secretary of State, Corporation DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Annual Report, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation107 North Main Street, Concord, NH 03301 · (603) 271-3246www.sos.nh.gov/corporations-0
- New Hampshire Department of Revenue AdministrationIssues 2 permits on this page: Business Profits Tax and Business Enterprise Tax, General Business License and Sales Tax — New Hampshire Revenue Department Position109 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301 · (603) 230-5920www.revenue.nh.gov
What does a auto repair shop need in Nashua that other businesses do not?
2 of the 4 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Nashua: Vehicle Inspection Station License and Repairer Registration.
Municipal Business Licensing — City Clerk's License List (Retail, Auto Repair, Veterinary, Fitness, Salon)
There is no City Clerk license fee for these industries: the City Clerk's Licenses & Permits page lists the licenses the office issues — Amusement Devices, Chauffeurs, Pawnbrokers & Secondhand Dealers, Shows, Taxicabs, and Vendors (flea markets, hawkers and peddlers, itinerant vendors and street fairs) — and that list names no category for an ordinary retail store, auto repair shop, veterinary practice, fitness studio, or salon, nor anything equivalent to Manchester's narrow 'High Impact Retail' tobacco/vapor/lottery carve-out. The Nashua obligations recorded for these industries are the commercial building permit, Certificate of Occupancy, sign permit, and zoning approvals in the other records for Nashua, layered on top of any relevant New Hampshire state-layer credential (the Repairer Registration for auto repair, the Board of Veterinary Medicine's individual practitioner license, and the Barbering, Cosmetology or Esthetics Shop License for a salon; the New Hampshire state layer records no statewide fitness-industry license).
Vehicle Inspection Station License
This is optional business a repair shop can take on, not a condition of repairing vehicles at all. Twenty-five dollars a year covers the license itself, but qualifying is not just a matter of paying the fee: a station must also be registered with the Secretary of State, approved for occupancy by the local town or city, and visited on site by the state police before it can operate. Roughly 2,400 stations hold this license statewide.
Repairer Registration
A repair dealer is defined precisely as someone principally in the motor vehicle business who repairs vehicles for others, is not a dealer, and has an established place of business in the state — the registration covering that activity is priced by the plate rather than as a flat license fee, $48 for the first and $18 for each additional or supplemental one, on a two-year cycle. The state's own application form is confusingly headed as though it were a dealer application, which makes the boundary easy to miss: the extra $250 license fee and the $25,000 dealer's surety bond apply only once a repair shop crosses into also buying, selling or exchanging vehicles. A shop that sticks to repair alone never reaches that additional cost.
Shared with other businesses in Nashua
- Sign Permit — City of Nashua, Planning Department (Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment), A $25.00 non-refundable filing fee accompanies every sign permit application, plus an issuance fee banded by sign area: $55.00 for 50 square feet or less, $105.00 for 51-150 square feet, and $200.00 for 151 square feet or more (a change of copy to an existing sign carries no charge). An illuminated sign additionally requires a separate electrical sign permit from the Department of Building Safety, priced at a $25.00 application fee plus $25.00 per sign., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Nashua, NH; what each one involves is set out on the Nashua permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NH and are covered on the NH state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Nashua?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Vehicle Inspection Station License and Repairer Registration. A retail store needs nothing here that a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 1 | 3 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 1 | 3 | 5 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 0 | 4 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Nashua permits page and the NH state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Licenses & Permits — the City Clerk's own current, complete list of licensable activities and fees (Amusement Devices, Chauffeurs, Pawnbrokers & Secondhand Dealers, Shows, Taxicabs, Vendors)City of Nashua, Office of the City Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- New Hampshire DMV — vehicle inspection station licensing, $25 a yearNew Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- New Hampshire DMV form RDMV 720 — repairer registration, and the boundary with dealer licensingNew Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
