13 permits · verified 2026-09-04
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Charlotte?
In short
A restaurant in Charlotte, NC has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement, Land Use and Environmental Services Agency charges $10 flat, per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-04 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Charlotte
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Permit | Mecklenburg County Public Health, Environmental Health Division | $250 for a plan review, the published fee for new or renovated establishments; a separate base annual operating fee is not published in the fee schedule | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section | No fee | not stated in North Carolina law — the certifying programme sets its own | 2026-09-03 |
| Food Establishment Permit | North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section | $120 a year, statewide | the permit does not expire; the fee is reassessed annually | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Charlotte
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — North Carolina 2015 Privilege Tax Repeal (Charlotte)only if it applies to you | Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement, Land Use and Environmental Services Agency | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement, Land Use and Environmental Services Agency | $10 flat, per certificate | issued once per qualifying occupancy | 2026-09-04 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement, Land Use and Environmental Services Agency | Varies — formula on the Charlotte page | per sign | 2026-09-04 |
| Commercial Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement, Land Use and Environmental Services Agency | Varies — formula on the Charlotte page | one-time — the permit expires 6 months after issuance if no work has commenced, or 12 months after the last inspection if work has started but stopped | 2026-09-04 |
| Mandated Fire Inspection Fee | Charlotte Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | Varies — formula on the Charlotte page | recurring — the exact interval is not stated in the fee schedule | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
NC registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Registration (sales and use tax) | North Carolina Department of Revenue | No fee | no renewal — but see the dormancy rule | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division | $125 one-time filing | no expiry, but an annual report is due every 15 April | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division | Varies — formula on the NC page | annual — 15 April for an LLC | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division | $125 one-time filing | no expiry, but an annual report is due each year | 2026-09-03 |
| General Business License — North Carolina Secretary of State Positiononly if it applies to you | North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Charlotte?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a restaurant in Charlotte, NC, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $380.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Charlotte permits page and the NC state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Charlotte?
Permits for a restaurant in Charlotte, NC come from 6 separate offices: Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement, Land Use and Environmental Services Agency, Mecklenburg County Public Health, Environmental Health Division, Charlotte Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, North Carolina Department of Revenue, North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Mecklenburg County Code Enforcement, Land Use and Environmental Services AgencyIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business License — North Carolina 2015 Privilege Tax Repeal (Charlotte), Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit2145 Suttle Ave., Charlotte, NC 28208 · 980-314-2633code.mecknc.gov
- Mecklenburg County Public Health, Environmental Health DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment Permit3205 Freedom Drive, Suite 8000, Charlotte, NC 28208 · 980-314-1620health.mecknc.gov/envhealth/food-and-facilities-sanitation
- Charlotte Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Mandated Fire Inspection Fee500 Dalton Avenue, Charlotte, NC 28206 · 704-336-2101www.charlottenc.gov
- North Carolina Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Certificate of Registration (sales and use tax)PO Box 25000, Raleigh, NC 27640-0640 · (877) 252-3052www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/sales-and-use-tax-registration
- North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report, Articles of Incorporation, General Business License — North Carolina Secretary of State Position2 South Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27601-2903 · (919) 814-5400www.sosnc.gov/divisions/business_registration
- North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health SectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager, Food Establishment Permit1632 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1632 · (919) 707-5854www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/programs/environmental-health
What does a restaurant need in Charlotte that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Permit
Mecklenburg County Public Health's Food and Facilities Sanitation page states that the program is administered by the local health department under Chapter 130A of the North Carolina General Statutes and 'issues permits to more than 4,400 food service facilities operating in Mecklenburg County', including restaurants and temporary food services, so a Charlotte restaurant is permitted by the County rather than the City. A temporary event food permit is $75, and a mobile food unit plan review is $150; a distinct recurring annual fee line for a standard restaurant is not published in the county's fee schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Charlotte
- Certified Food Protection Manager — North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, No fee, not stated in North Carolina law — the certifying programme sets its own. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Permit — North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, $120 a year, statewide, the permit does not expire; the fee is reassessed annually. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Charlotte, NC; what each one involves is set out on the Charlotte permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NC and are covered on the NC state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Charlotte?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Charlotte, NC need exactly the same 3 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 3 | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Charlotte permits page and the NC state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mecklenburg County LUESA Fee Ordinance — certificates of occupancy, building permits, sign permits and bondingMecklenburg County Land Use and Environmental Services Agency · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mecklenburg County Public Health — food and facilities sanitation programMecklenburg County Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
