Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-03

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Washington?

In short

A retail store in Washington, DC has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. District of Columbia Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division charges $35 per card, valid three years for the certified food protection manager identification card. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-03 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Washington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment Plan ReviewDistrict of Columbia Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division$70–$300 per submission, banded by capacity or floor areaone-time per submission2026-09-03
Certified Food Protection Manager Identification CardDistrict of Columbia Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division$35 per card, valid three years3 years from the date of the examination2026-09-03
Vending Business LicenseDistrict of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Business Licensing Division$99 per two-year license2 years2026-09-03
Home Occupation Permitonly if it applies to youDistrict of Columbia Department of Buildings$72.60 filing and issuance, including the 10 per cent enhanced feenot stated in the published schedule2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Washington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Basic Business LicenseDistrict of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Business Licensing DivisionVaries — formula on the Washington page2 or 4 years, or 6 months where eligible2026-09-03
Certificate of OccupancyDistrict of Columbia Department of BuildingsVaries — formula on the Washington pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

DC registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youDistrict of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Corporations Division$300 per filing, every two yearsbiennial2026-09-03
Combined Business Tax Registration (FR-500)District of Columbia Office of Tax and RevenueNo feeone-time registration2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youDistrict of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Corporations DivisionVaries — formula on the DC pageno expiry, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-03
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youDistrict of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Corporations Division$99 one-time filingno expiry, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-03
Certificate of Clean HandsDistrict of Columbia Office of Tax and RevenueNo feedoes not expire — validated in real time2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Washington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a retail store in Washington, DC, 7 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $134.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Plan Review: $70–$300 per submission, banded by capacity or floor area

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Washington permits page and the DC state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Washington?

Permits for a retail store in Washington, DC come from 5 separate offices: District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Business Licensing Division, District of Columbia Department of Buildings, District of Columbia Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division, District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Corporations Division, District of Columbia Office of Tax and Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Washington that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Washington

  • Food Establishment Plan Review — District of Columbia Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division, $70–$300 per submission, banded by capacity or floor area, one-time per submission. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager Identification Card — District of Columbia Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division, $35 per card, valid three years, 3 years from the date of the examination. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Vending Business License — District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Business Licensing Division, $99 per two-year license, 2 years. Also required for food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Home Occupation Permit — District of Columbia Department of Buildings, $72.60 filing and issuance, including the 10 per cent enhanced fee, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for contractors and trades, fitness studios and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.

The other 2 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Washington, DC; what each one involves is set out on the Washington permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DC and are covered on the DC state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Washington?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A retail store also needs Vending Business License and Home Occupation Permit. A coffee shop needs nothing here that a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Washington, DC, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops2220
Restaurants2220
Food trucks3221
Childcare centres2131
Contractors and trades2131
Fitness studios2131
Auto repair shops1041
Salons and barbers1041
Veterinary clinics1041

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, restaurants page, food trucks page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Washington permits page and the DC state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.