7 published records
Business licenses and permits in Pinal County, Arizona
Pinal County, Arizona has its seat in Florence. Its environmental health permits are issued by the Pinal County Public Health District under the Pinal County Environmental Health Code, effective January 1, 2022, which applies to all areas within the county boundaries except as provided by law. The Code defines a Municipality as any incorporated area within Pinal County. Which incorporated places defer to the county for food, mobile-food and pool permits is not published in the Code or on the county's environmental health pages, so a business inside an incorporated place should confirm with the Public Health District which permits apply to its address.
What are you opening in Pinal County?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Pinal County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Individual Onsite Sewage Disposal System (ISDS / Septic) Permit | Pinal County Public Health District | Septic tank system under 2,999 gallons per day: $296 (initial and maximum). Over 3,000 gallons per day: $400 initial, $1,800 maximum. Alternative system: $400 initial, $1,000 maximum. Renewal $55. Alteration $100. Transfer $50 per transfer. Red-tag inspection $75. Amounts set in Chapter I Regulation 13(b) of the Pinal County Environmental Health Code. | not stated in the Code's fee provision; renewal is a separate $55 action | 2026-10-05 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Pinal County?
Individual Onsite Sewage Disposal System (ISDS / Septic) Permit
Required for a business that relies on an individual onsite sewage disposal system, which the Code calls an ISDS, in the unincorporated area. Chapter XI Regulation 3(b) of the Code requires a zoning clearance from the county before an onsite permit is issued in the unincorporated area; that clearance's fee is not part of this record. The septic permit fees are set in Chapter I Regulation 13(b), which cites Pinal County Resolution No. 10902-EHF approved January 9, 2002. The county's live Aquifer Protection and ISDS fee page lists the same septic permit figures without an adoption date, and the Aquifer Protection Fee Schedule effective December 2, 2023 does not restate these septic permit lines. The permit term is not stated in the fee provision.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Pinal County Environmental Health Code, effective January 1, 2022 — Chapter I Regulation 13 (fee schedule, including 13(a) food and pool fees and 13(b) septic fees), Chapter II Regulation 3 (permit required for a food establishment), Chapter III Regulation 3 (permit required for a public or semi-public pool), Chapter XI Regulation 3(b) (zoning clearance before an onsite permit)Pinal County Public Health District · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
- Fee Schedule (Aquifer Protection and ISDS) — the county's own live fee page listing the septic permit figures (undated)Pinal County · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
Who issues business permits in Pinal County?
We hold records from one agency for Pinal County, alongside the state-level registrations every Arizona business needs. Permitting here is split between local and state offices, so check which authority covers your address before you file.
Pinal County issuing agencies
Other Arizona jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
