Pinal County
Pinal County Public Health District
In short
Pinal County Public Health District issues 7 permits we publish for Pinal County, last verified 2026-10-05. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | Pinal County Public Health District | New food establishment $185; minor remodel $93; HACCP plan $46; other facility plans $33; variance request $46. Amounts set in Chapter I Regulation 13(a) of the Pinal County Environmental Health Code. | not stated in the Code's fee provision; a plan review is a one-time charge per submission | 2026-10-05 |
| Food Establishment Permit (by food establishment type) | Pinal County Public Health District | Food Establishment 1 (Type 1) $64; Food Establishment 2 (Type 2) $145; Food Establishment 3 (Type 3) $266; Food Establishment 4 (Type 4) $266. Amounts set in Chapter I Regulation 13(a) of the Pinal County Environmental Health Code. | not stated in the Code's fee provision or the Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule | 2026-10-05 |
| Seasonal Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Pinal County Public Health District | $145 per permit | seasonal operation under 180 days, per the fee schedule's description | 2026-10-05 |
| Public or Semi-Public Swimming Pool or Spa Permit | Pinal County Public Health District | $192 per permit | not stated in the Code's fee provision | 2026-10-05 |
| Mobile Food Unit, Food Peddler and Pushcart Permit | Pinal County Public Health District | Mobile food unit, food peddler and pushcart permit $29 each (Mobile Food 1 to 3 in the fee schedule). Plan review: mobile food unit $185; pushcart $93. Amounts set in Chapter I Regulation 13(a) of the Pinal County Environmental Health Code. | not stated in the Code's fee provision or the fee schedule | 2026-10-05 |
| Temporary Food Booth and Temporary Event Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Pinal County Public Health District | No fee | per event; the term is not stated in the Code's fee provision | 2026-10-05 |
| Individual Onsite Sewage Disposal System (ISDS / Septic) Permit | Pinal County Public Health District | Septic tank system under 2,999 gallons per day: $296 (initial and maximum). Over 3,000 gallons per day: $400 initial, $1,800 maximum. Alternative system: $400 initial, $1,000 maximum. Renewal $55. Alteration $100. Transfer $50 per transfer. Red-tag inspection $75. Amounts set in Chapter I Regulation 13(b) of the Pinal County Environmental Health Code. | not stated in the Code's fee provision; renewal is a separate $55 action | 2026-10-05 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Food Establishment Plan Review
Charged for plan review of a food establishment, by the type of submission. The Code's Chapter I Regulation 13(a) sets the amounts: $185 for a new food establishment, $93 for a minor remodel, $46 for a HACCP plan, $33 for other facility plans, and $46 for a variance request, each per submission. These are adopted county ordinance amounts printed in the Pinal County Environmental Health Code effective January 1, 2022, which cites Pinal County Resolution No. 120413-EHF approved December 4, 2013; the Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule shows the same amounts. The plan review amounts are separate from the operating permit amounts in the food establishment permit record for this county. A retail store is covered only where it operates a food establishment, such as a grocery kitchen or prepared-food counter.
Food Establishment Permit (by food establishment type)
Required for a food establishment, which covers a restaurant, coffee shop, grocery or daycare kitchen. Chapter II Regulation 3 of the Code states: 'No person shall operate a food establishment without a valid permit to do so from the Department, or other than in compliance with this code and any other applicable State or County regulation.' The amount depends on the establishment type: Food Establishment 1 (Type 1) is $64, Food Establishment 2 (Type 2) is $145, and Food Establishment 3 (Type 3) and Food Establishment 4 (Type 4) are $266 each. The figures are printed in Chapter I Regulation 13(a) of the Code, an adopted county ordinance effective January 1, 2022, which cites Pinal County Resolution No. 120413-EHF approved December 4, 2013 as its source; the standalone Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule carries the same amounts. The permit term is not stated in the fee provision. Plan review for a new or remodeled establishment is a separate charge, recorded in the plan review record for this county.
Seasonal Food Establishment Permit
Covers a food establishment operating seasonally for under 180 days, as the fee schedule describes the permit. The $145 amount is listed in the county's Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule, the attachment to Resolution No. 120413-EHF, as published on the county's fee schedule PDF. The amount is not printed in Chapter I Regulation 13(a) of the Pinal County Environmental Health Code, so it is stated here on the fee schedule alone. It equals the Type 2 food establishment amount in the food establishment permit record for this county. The Pinal County Public Health District is the issuing office for seasonal permits.
Public or Semi-Public Swimming Pool or Spa Permit
Applies only where the business operates a public or semi-public swimming pool, bathing place or spa, such as a fitness studio or salon with a pool or spa on its premises. This record applies only to a business that operates a pool, spa or bathing place. Chapter III Regulation 3 of the Code states: 'No person shall operate a Public or Semi-Public Swimming Pool or Bathing Place without a valid permit.' The Code's Chapter I Regulation 13(a) fee is $192 per permit for a bathing place pool, a pool or spa at one location, and a spa. This is an adopted county ordinance amount, effective with the Code on January 1, 2022 and carried from Pinal County Resolution No. 120413-EHF approved December 4, 2013; the Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule lists the same $192.
Mobile Food Unit, Food Peddler and Pushcart Permit
Covers a food truck, food peddler or pushcart operating as a mobile food unit. The permit amount is $29 for each of the mobile food unit, food peddler and pushcart categories, as listed in Chapter I Regulation 13(a) of the Code and in the Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule. Plan review is a separate charge: $185 for a mobile food unit and $93 for a pushcart. These are adopted county ordinance amounts printed in the Code effective January 1, 2022, which cites Pinal County Resolution No. 120413-EHF approved December 4, 2013; the fee schedule PDF carries the same figures. The permit term is not stated in the Code's fee provision.
Temporary Food Booth and Temporary Event Food Permit
There is no fee for a temporary food booth or a temporary event. Chapter I Regulation 13(a) of the Pinal County Environmental Health Code sets the temporary food booth at $0, and the Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule sets temporary events at $0 as well. Both are adopted county amounts: the Code is effective January 1, 2022 and reproduces the amounts from Pinal County Resolution No. 120413-EHF approved December 4, 2013. The Code's fee provision does not state a term for these permits.
Individual Onsite Sewage Disposal System (ISDS / Septic) Permit
Required for a business that relies on an individual onsite sewage disposal system, which the Code calls an ISDS, in the unincorporated area. Chapter XI Regulation 3(b) of the Code requires a zoning clearance from the county before an onsite permit is issued in the unincorporated area; that clearance's fee is not part of this record. The septic permit fees are set in Chapter I Regulation 13(b), which cites Pinal County Resolution No. 10902-EHF approved January 9, 2002. The county's live Aquifer Protection and ISDS fee page lists the same septic permit figures without an adoption date, and the Aquifer Protection Fee Schedule effective December 2, 2023 does not restate these septic permit lines. The permit term is not stated in the fee provision.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Pinal County
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Environmental Health Code — the county's own page linking the current Pinal County Environmental Health CodePinal County · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
- Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule (Pinal County Resolution No. 120413-EHF attachment) — food establishment, plan review, mobile food, seasonal, temporary event and pool/spa amountsPinal County · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
- Fee Schedule (Aquifer Protection and ISDS) — the county's own live fee page listing the septic permit figures (undated)Pinal County · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
- Pinal County Environmental Health Code, effective January 1, 2022 — Chapter I Regulation 13 (fee schedule, including 13(a) food and pool fees and 13(b) septic fees), Chapter II Regulation 3 (permit required for a food establishment), Chapter III Regulation 3 (permit required for a public or semi-public pool), Chapter XI Regulation 3(b) (zoning clearance before an onsite permit)Pinal County Public Health District · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Arizona jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
