Detroit
City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department
In short
City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department issues 6 permits we publish for Detroit, last verified 2026-09-04. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department | $147 flat; a temporary certificate or an extension of one is $520 | not stated on the pages consulted | 2026-09-04 |
| Commercial Building Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department | A flat $271.43 for a project valued at $2,000 or less. Above that, a base fee plus a per-$1,000 rate that steps down as the project grows — $34.09 per $1,000 over $2,000 up to $25,000, $24.53 per $1,000 up to $100,000, $27.82 per $1,000 up to $500,000, continuing in bands to $1.81 per $1,000 above $50,000,000. A change of use alone, with no construction, is a flat $249. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-04 |
| Sign and Awning Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department | $113–$1,115 $113 for a wall sign up to 100 square feet, $161 for a ground sign up to 50 square feet, rising to $1,115 for a large off-premises advertisement Downtown; a fixed awning license is $62 a year | the fee schedule lists this as an annual license, though a separate department page states signs renew every two years — both figures are recorded here rather than one resolved | 2026-09-04 |
| Contractor Registrationonly if it applies to you | City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department | $46 a year for a residential builder registration; an electrical contractor is $82, a plumbing contractor $22, a mechanical contractor $23 | annual — must be renewed every year, or run through the expiration of the underlying state license | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department | $0–$5,000 by business category, from $0 for certain veteran-owned exemptions up to $5,000 for marijuana establishments | most categories run 2 years, expiring between May 31 and October 31, though some are annual or per-event | 2026-09-04 |
| Motor Vehicle Service License | City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department | $268 for the full 2-year term | 2 years — expires October 31 | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Certificate of Occupancy
A researched review of existing building records to support the application costs a further $37, and a certified duplicate copy of an issued certificate is $55.
Commercial Building Permit
Electrical, mechanical and plumbing plan review each add a further 7% of the building permit fee, and a mandatory building, structural and zoning plan review deposit of 35% of the permit fee is charged up front and is non-refundable.
Sign and Awning Permit
Only a licensed City of Detroit Sign Professional may apply for a sign permit, and applications go through the city's ACCELA e-permitting system rather than in person.
Contractor Registration
Applicants must already hold a current, valid State of Michigan Contractors License before this city registration is issued — the city layers its own registration on top of the state credential rather than replacing it. Whether Detroit itself requires any further bond or insurance is not stated on the pages consulted.
Business License
Detroit has no single flat business license fee — it licenses roughly thirty specific categories, each priced and termed on its own schedule, the way the food, sign, contractor and auto repair records below each show for their own trade.
Motor Vehicle Service License
This license is filed under the same category grouping as Used Auto Dealer and Used Auto Parts, so whether it covers a repair-only shop with no used-parts sales, or only shops dealing in used vehicles or parts, is not fully spelled out on the city's own page — confirm scope directly with BSEED Licensing before relying on this for a pure repair operation.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Detroit
- Phone
- (313) 224-3179
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Detroit BSEED — advertising and business sign permits, renewal cycleCity of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- City of Detroit BSEED — contractor license application, requiring a current Michigan state licenseCity of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- City of Detroit BSEED — Motor Vehicle Service licenseCity of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- City of Detroit BSEED fee schedule, effective January 1, 2024, modified July 18, 2025City of Detroit Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Other offices serving Detroit
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Michigan jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
